Life Shifting News

I have a lot to talk about:

  • I got my first comment (yay!) from the first person to read here (double yay!) who challenged me to investigate why I feel so defensive about her post. So, I’m going to do that, but not today. (I’m thinking about it a lot, actually, so I’m sure that I will write about it again soon, at the risk of making this blog entirely about Settler’s Guilt.)
  • I’m psyching myself up to start the final major push on my novel.
  • I’m reminding myself that this writing is to get me better at writing what’s in my head and to not worry too much about what comes out the other end of my fingers because this is all for practise at writing quickly.

But I’m not talking about any of that today, because I’m talking about the thing that is going to shift the course of my life a little bit.

What do you think it is?

Remember when I said that someone hit me in a round-about a few weeks ago? That same day, actually, right before that happened, was a job interview. I got a call to interview for a job that I applied for over a year ago.

I remember getting the email that day and staring at it; I was thinking: “There’s no way that I should do this interview. I’ve only been at [my current job] for a year. I should pass on this job.”

But I didn’t want to pass on the job. Something inside of me was telling me that I shouldn’t pass on the job.

So I stalled. That night, I called my parents. “You should probably pass on the job. You don’t need to take every new job that comes your way. It’s probably just another job exactly like yours. There’s no need to burn bridges in your current section by leaving after so little time.”

But something was telling me that I shouldn’t pass on the job. I emailed the staffing person, not to say that I would take the job, but to see if they could send me some more details about the roles and responsibilities of the job.

A little bit of time passed. They sent me a 5-page document that outlined a bunch of the responsibilities and, at the end, there was this:

[The job] presents an excellent opportunity to gain holistic and integrated … experience that is essential for success in any executive position within [the place that I work].

It was enough to get my attention, but it still wasn’t enough. I talked to my boss. I said: “Listen, I know that I’ve only been in this section for a year. My default position is that I’m not going to do this interview, because I don’t want to waste anyone’s time. But here is the description of the job that I’m being offered an interview for. What do you think?”

And my boss looked at the paper, and he read all the way to the end with a furrowed brow. I could see his hand shaking a little. He said: “You want to be an executive, don’t you?”

I said yes. I do want to be an executive. I think that their work is interesting and challenging and I would be good at it.

He said: “This is better than what we can offer you here. You should try the interview.”

I accepted the interview. Turns out that it wasn’t one interview, but two.

The first interview wasn’t for the job, but for the pool. I had about a half hour to prepare answers to a handful of questions, which I was supposed to present to a panel of 3 people who told me that they probably wouldn’t spend a lot of time looking at me. I wrote a bunch of notes and got to the end of presenting the first question when…

“I’m going to have to stop you there for a minute,” said one of the interviewers.

My heart sank. For the next five or ten minutes, the interviewers poked at me, trying to weasel out of me a technical term that I was supposed to use to get full marks on the question. I never figured out what it was.

“You’d better move on,” the interviewer said. “You still need to get through the rest of the questions.”

The rest passed in a blur. I read out my notes, as the back of my brain tried to figure out what it was that I had missed on the first question. At the end of the interview, I rattled on some more about that first question, but still never gave them what they were looking for.

I went home, convinced that I’d failed. After I got home and closed the door, I remembered the technical thing that they’d wanted me to say, all two words of it.

I beat myself up for a full week, until I got the email that said that I’d made it to the next step.

The second interview was better. Two interviewers and a conversation. I really like that type of interview. I think I’m good at them.

And then they offered me a job. Tomorrow morning, I will accept it. I like new jobs, they represent hope and a journey and new things and interesting new challenges.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

