Sinkholes at lunch

“Did you hear about the thing that happened on Rideau Street?” Steve said at lunch.

“No,” I said.

“Yeah,” said Andrew. “There’s a big sinkhole that opened up and swallowed Rideau Street.”

No, I thought. That can’t be true. They are totally the type to pull one over on me.

“Did you hear about the sinkhole on Rideau street?” said Carl walking in. “I heard it swallowed the whole road.”

Totally serious. Everyone was totally serious.

Because they were being factual. A sinkhole did open up and swallow the entire width of Rideau street, closing the Rideau mall and Colonel By drive, a really useful arterial road. At just after one o’clock, traffic was still at a standstill on all of the major roads.

As frustrating as it has been to have to move out of my old building, I was happy. The new building forces me to bike to work, and now I wouldn’t have to deal with all of the sinkhole-related traffic.

I don’t want to say, ‘it hits close to home’. Yes, it’s walking distance from where I live, but I don’t drive there. It’s more just that it feels weird, because in the last few months I feel like I’ve been in proximity to a bunch of really freak once-in-a-lifetime occurrences.

I don’t feel like I’m cursed; more like I’m really, really, really lucky. And I can say that, because no one got hurt in the sinkhole, except for some guy’s car. So, even my smashed up car feels lucky in comparison.

(hastag blessed… somebody smack me now)

Leave a Reply

