When bad is good

Tonight, I’ve been sewing and crafting all night. Basically, I got home from work, decompressed, ate an early dinner and then… 5 hours later here I am.

I’ve been doing this thing where I watch YouTube. When I say that, I mean that I just watch it. It’s like the TV in the background, switching from video to video to video.

(I wasn’t actually watching it. I was mostly listening to it as I stared at the sewing machine. Looking away whilst operating machinery is a good way to lose digits or worse.)

For about an hour, I watched Stephen Colbert, until I wanted to punch the computer in the face if I had to hear his voice again. Then, it was countless cast interviews with the actors from Game of Thrones. Then, it was Honest Trailers.

What is the point of this?

The point is, that I normally avoid TV. Normally, TV distracts me and annoys me, especially when I’m trying to concentrate.

Today, some background noise was just what I needed to focus on the task at hand.

All this to say, trying new ways of working can turn out well. And early dinners mean that you can get some pretty sweet focus going, and get a lot of stuff done in the evening.

Leave a Reply

