Delaying Gratification

It was 3 hours until lunch, and I was already craving it.

There was egg salad in my bag, sitting there just beside my right ankle.

I wanted it.

I wanted it bad.

I looked at the 3 Litres of water that was sitting on my desk, that I refill every day so that I have no excuse to not be hydrated.

I told myself: “You can eat your lunch when it’s 12, or when you’ve finished all of the water on your desk. Whichever comes first. But not a second earlier.”

Then I drank 3 Litres of water in 3 hours and spent the rest of the day dashing to the bathroom every 20 minutes.

But I ate my lunch at lunch hour.

Leave a Reply

